Chakras & How to Unblock Them: Part One

The first step in knowing how to unblock the chakras is to know what chakras are exactly and to identify which chakra(s) may be blocked, so you can directly target that particular one(s). There are many ways and techniques that people use to unblock, cleanse, and balance their chakras. 

So what are chakras?

Chakras are the Sanskrit word for ‘wheel,’ and these wheels or energy vortices are within the energetic body. They are connected to every aspect of our lives, emotional, mental, physical, and spiritual. There are seven primary chakras, and even though there are hundreds of minor chakras, these seven are most known and focused upon for healing and balancing. By balancing your chakras, you balance your mind, body, and spirit thus balancing your life!

Here is a brief description of each chakra,  so you’ll be able to see how they all relate to one another and are interconnected.

colors of chakra

The Root Chakra is the first chakra and is the base foundation of the chakra system. The color of this chakra is red and the element is earth.

When the Root Chakra is balanced, the person feels safe,  secure and stable. They are grounded and connected to Mother Earth, (the element of this chakra is Earth). The person is secure in who they are and of their identity. They know that they are always provided for by the universe and that they never go without. They are grateful for what they do have.

When this chakra is unbalanced, the person suffers from feeling unsafe and unstable. They feel like the world is not a safe place and they’re always carrying around this fear and anxiety. Their head is always in the clouds and tend to be a bit spacey, they might feel like they aren’t anchored to anything. They may also suffer from health problems.

Ways to unblock and cleanse this Chakra:

1) Color Therapy (visualizing red, wearing red clothing, etc…) 

2) Exercise and healthy eating;

Exercising is good for overall health, but it really helps to move the energy that’s within the body and help it flow more naturally and become un-stagnate. Exercises having to do with the legs is especially beneficial for this root chakra, it emphasizes grounding the energy. After exercising, you’ll feel invigorated and the chi will have circulated all throughout your body, flowing naturally as it should. Plus it will boost your self-esteem and make you feel good about yourself. Remember, once you start and get moving, it’s harder to just stop. 

3) Nature walks

4) Grounding; Taking your shoes off and standing on the grass barefooted, feeling yourself connecting with Mother Earth

5) Affirmations

6) Yoga; There are specific yoga poses for each chakra that are meant to help move the energy or ‘chi’ within the chakras so the energy can flow more naturally.

colours of chakra

The Sacral chakra is the second chakra and it deals with emotions, sexuality, and creativity. The color of this chakra is orange and the element is water. 

When this chakra is balanced, the person accepts and honors their emotions/feelings and are able to express them more freely. They are in touch with their uniqueness and are more accepting of themselves as they are. They have a healthy relationship with their sexuality and healthy boundaries, They are very creative and they live life with passion and feel more joyous. 

When this chakra is unbalanced, the person suffers from being out of touch of their emotions, may actually believe that their emotions are messy things and thus try to repress them for as long as they can. They have creative blocks and may have unhealthy boundaries and relationships. They might not care as much for their physical bodies, thus suffering from unhealthy things like emotional eating, substance abuse, other harmful things for the body, etc…

Ways to unblock and cleanse this Chakra:

1) Color therapy (visualizing orange, wearing orange clothing, etc…)

2) Exercise and healthy eating;

It’s always good to nourish the body, and by nourishing the body you begin nourishing your soul. Eating orange foods can be stimulating to the sacral chakra, drinking water or other beverages are good for this water element chakra)

3) Express Yourself; Dancing, or whatever form of creativity you like doing, as long as you’re expressing yourself creatively and having fun.

4) Letting go; Expressing your emotions, letting go of all the negative emotions that were holding you down, letting go of any guilt you might’ve felt and finally forgive yourself, of course doing all of these things in a healthy way.

5) Affirmations

6) Yoga

chakra colours

The Solar Plexus is the third chakra and it deals with willpower and self-esteem. The color of this chakra is yellow and the element is fire.

When this chakra is balanced, the person loves and accepts themselves as they are and they are confident in their own skin. They have a healthy self-esteem. The person is in touch with their inner power and is able to tackle whatever life throws at them. They can set goals and they believe they can achieve them. They also accept others as they are (which then leads up to the Heart Chakra having the unconditional love for the self and for others).

When this chakra is unbalanced, the person will suffer from either too low a self-esteem or too high a self-esteem. They will be unaccepting of themselves, always placing high demands on oneself which means they’ll also feel this way towards others. They might believe that they are powerless and cannot do what they set their minds to achieve.

Ways to unblock and cleanse this Chakra:

1) Color Therapy (visualizing yellow, wearing yellow clothing, etc…)

2) Exercising and healthy eating (yellow foods like bananas, sunflower seeds, cheese, etc…)

3) Setting Goals; Set realistic, small goals and working towards achieving those goals. When you achieve them, you’ll feel really proud of yourself and more in control of your life. If at first, the goals seem daunting, then break them down into smaller steps and when you do accomplish them, celebrate how powerful and effective you are!

4) Going outside and Sunbathing; Sunshine is really good for the solar plexus (its element being fire and all), and it’s an instant mood improver. 🙂 Just don’t forget sunscreen!

5) Affirmations

6) Yoga

This has been part one of Chakras & How to Unblock them. Stay tuned for Part two. 

You may leave comments below if you have any questions or have any thoughts you’d like to share on this!

Much Love and Light, As Always

~Tiffany

All images not noted with my name, are courtesy of Google Images, they are not owned or sold, and are shared freely. 

Tiffany Goldman and The Mystic Owl, © 2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this written material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Tiffany Goldman and The Mystic Owl with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

15 thoughts on “Chakras & How to Unblock Them: Part One

    1. Thank you! 🙂 And that’s awesome! I love meditations suited for the chakras, especially the ones that train you to visualize them. I also like doing yoga, I feel that it truly helps to move the energy or chi throughout the body. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Bet you have the balance of a ninja. I will branch out my horizons and give it a go. I’m a very positive frequency person, and can’t express more the feeling of meditation, and the effect it has on me. I love it. My name is Jack, its hard to find like minded people to talk about these concepts.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I agree with you, meditation is amazing. 🙂 Once you do it, and keep doing it, it starts to become a part of your life. It becomes a part of you. You know, it’s been proven that meditation affects the brain in many positive ways, and after awhile it begins to change the brain. And i know what you mean, this path is quite lonely sometimes. It’s always nice to meet someone positively awesome as yourself, Jack. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, well. I love Astrology. Beyond ordinary horoscopes or the traditional ‘ sun sign,’ (most people don’t even know natal charts exist, there is much more than just a sun sign) it is a beautiful, complex sort of science that continues to fascinate me no matter how years I’ve been learning it.

      I don’t use it to predict the future or anything, I don’t even read the daily horoscopes because I believe in free-will, but I study it because it helps me understand myself and others a bit better. On a certain level. It helps with my relationships as well.

      People have many layers to them, in their personalities and their souls. Understanding astrology and how it affects us and our relationships is like understanding a layer to a person or aspect in a relationship.

      Dreams are fascinating as well. I love writing down my dreams, whether lucid or not, and trying to interpret them. I enjoy it even more reading about other people’s dreams and lucid dream experiences. This concept actually gives me a lot of inspiration for my creative writing.

      So how about you? What do you like? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I second that, astronomy is incredible. Its very complex. Always wanted a tarot reading, I’ve looked into birth charts before, and there is some logical sense. When planets are in certain positions they send out frequency’s and vibrations, which can effect us. Same with crystals. Gonna sound really sad now, but I love nothing more than staring at the stars. Makes you realise how small we are.
    I’ve had a bit of a crazy life, being a lonely depressed kid being homeless, to raving every night and partying like there’s no tomorrow. Now I’m the happiest I’ve ever been. I had an awakening, and I see how this reality works. I have this ability to bring the best out of people, and I want the masses to realise we all have this ability. I don’t want that gut feeling inside me that people are not happy with them self’s like I once were. Because its these people who are the true thinkers, and shouldn’t live a life of sorrow because we all have the ability to be great and stamp are footprint on the world. Sorry I’m whoffing on with myself. So that’s my goal. Dreams intrigue me too, I have a dream journal. I had a dream 2 days ago. I was sat on this wooden chair in my dream, in someone’s living room. When a voice whispers into my ear “SEEK MYTH, BECAUSE THAT’S WHERE THE TRUTH LIES”, I turned around and no one was there. Then I woke up. Its been playing on my mind. The more I program my brain to go lucid in dreams, the real there getting. I love the ideology of astral projection, would recommend a man called Robert Monroe. I’ve learnt a lot from him, his books are incredible. I read a lot, Hermann Hesse, Carl Sagan, Robert Greene, Emerson, Joseph Campbell, loads. Plus I love philosophy. The work of Rene Descartes. So to sum up, I a massive nerd 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow! It’s amazing how a long way you’ve come. That’s awesome how you chose to embrace your unique soul path, instead of living (not really LIVING, more like existing) like most people are doing. I know what it’s like to feel an emptiness inside, feeling like there’s something missing, and always questioning ‘what am i meant to do? what’s my purpose?’ I think at some point everyone probably goes through this, but most try to drown it out with television, food, external substances, 9-5 jobs they hate, etc…

    It’s awesome how you got in touch with the unique magic you have. Kudos! 🙂

    And there’s nothing sad with staring at the stars, they’re beautiful. I love galaxy pictures and starlit skies, I could stare at them forever haha.

    I believe there is some truth to some Myths. Possibly your Higher-self is wanting you to discover one that will have a significance to you?

    Wow, you sound like you’re well-read. I love reading too! Always been an avid reader. If you’re interested in learning more about chakras, I’d recommend Anodea Judith’s Wheels of Life. It’s got a wealth of information in it, not just about chakras but even mentions other things, like about the holographic realities. i heard about Robert Monroe, been meaning to check out some of his work but my to-read-list is ever growing haha. A nice little book I read earlier this year was The Force by Stuart Wilde, perhaps you’d like it. I’m still just discovering other kinds of books outside of fiction. Some teachers I’d recommend checking out are David Wilcock and Emanuel Swedenborg.

    On Astral projection, I’d recommend the youtube channel, Ryan Cropper. He’s considered an expert on this topic, he’s been doing it since he was 16 and has created a technique of his own that many claims it works for them on the first night.

    By the way, I’m a huge nerd as well. So we cool. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I will order them, love filling my mind with knowledge, trying to broaden my horizon’s on the topic of self existence. I don’t understand how people don’t find this interesting. So where about are you from? Oh BTW just read your post, loved it. Your ideology beyond one self boosted by fear and ego needing to be faced is so true. I when I learnt to accept myself, and conquered my innermost being. I started to see the world beyond the illusion, and see it for all its glory. I now know myself, I see fear is false, and there is only love. I’m woffling again. Sorry. Haha you’ve got a real talent, I think its nice because these are not words you write, but you are living them. That’s why I really like reading your blog 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love doing that too. I have a lot of books on a shelf waiting to be read, and it doesn’t stop me from buying more, haha. I hope that you’ll like them! They are a smart investment, in my opinion.

      And I know right! This stuff should be taught in schools, especially. A lot of the things they teach in schools are meaningless in comparison, it doesn’t really help people find their true purpose in life.

      Oh, I’m from the US. You from the UK, right?

      Also, what you have to say is interesting so don’t feel self-conscious about talking too much. I like listening to you. And thank you for your kind words! I really love writing, I’ve kept a journal since I was 10. Only recently have I decided to share some of my writing and thoughts with the world. So I’m really glad someone likes it. I really like reading your blog too. 🙂 Also, when is your birthday? I’m curious.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know, might turn my house into a library! Business idea haha yeah, I’m from Manchester. So what’s the plan, what’s your life goal? I wish you were here, could talk your ears of, your really interesting. Oh my birthday is the 23 June 1990, I’m intrigued! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That sounds like an awesome idea! XD

        Well, I have one more year of Highschool (homeschooled) but afterwards I want to fully focus on writing this novel I’ve been working on for two years. Like I said before, I just been drafting it but haven’t found the time to write it down yet. I love writing, both creative and the kind of stuff I write here. My life goal is to truly be happy. I want my soul’s purpose to be fulfilled. Helping people and inspiring them to believe in themselves and remember their true potential/purpose is my calling.

        Oh so your a Cancerian, nice. 🙂 I’ve been friends with two people who are Cancerian, and we got along quite well. I’m a Virgo, my birthday is Sept 18th.

        If you want, I can help with drawing up your natal chart and interpreting it for you. My email is themysticowl11@gmail.com

        Like

  5. Wow, I ditto that. Knowing my work could help others, is better than all the fortune in the world. I feel you on the creating time to write, i m working on my book “illusion of reality, and the journey of the conscience” for a year now, but everyday that goes by I get more knowledgeable. We should work on a book together, our 2 minds together! It will be some guru level stuff. Like I say I work 50 hours a week, have family, house, and car, so on, you have to work hard and keep your mindset right, and when you deserve it the universe will serve it 🙂 my email is onemanreality@gmail.com I’m not Mr current affairs so don’t have Facebook or anything like that. If you don’t mind how old are you? Your very wise! I would love a natal chart, I need to do more research, oh I heard Virgo’s are really awesome people 🙂 I look forward to your book as well

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow! You’ve accomplished a lot! Working 50 hours a week, got a house and car now, and family too (btw your baby is so adorable!) AND writing a book. I have much respect for you. And yeah, maybe we could do that someday. 🙂 We do have simliar writing styles and are like-minded. I’ll definitely be one of your first readers. 😉 And I’m 17, turning 18 soon. Thank you for the compliment. 🙂 I don’t do social media much either.

      And great! I can definitely help you with that.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

